Who is he

I love wrestling with a passion! To me wrestling is a major key to success; not only does to push you beyond your limits physically it also gives you a sense of meaning at a young age as well as brothers in a family you never knew you were a part of. Wrestling can help you realize who you are as a person whether or not you are passive or more on the aggressive type like me. In my experience with wrestling, on my first day I walked into the room terrified not know what to expect at the young age of 14 my freshman year of highschool. The wrestling room didn’t really smell bad but it had a more physical feeling of the blood sweat and tears you could sense as you walked through the doors. Being that I was new to the room and the sport I was hazed unbelievably my eyebrows were shaved when I was sleeping by the upper class men we had a song when on the chorus they would “kick start” the freshman or newbies and many more unspeakable things were done between those walls but what I took away from that was a sense of wanting to fight back or just not be on the bottom of the totem pole what others may have taken from it might’ve been more along the lines of holy shit I really hate these guys. So I found something out about myself that when pushed I can push back. I personally with out a doubt believe that without that hazing I never would have achieved as much as I have achieved in the sport of wrestling! 
More than just a fun time wrestling pushes you physically. For starters waking up at 5 am everyday seems impossible for a highschool student but during both the on and off season my practice started at 5 am every morning my mom would drop me off or my coach would pick me up for our 5 mile run followed by either an hour of round robin practice or condition depending on the day of the week then we showered and started our school day. Six and a half hours of school later we started our after school conditioning which usually consisted of a timed mile and then 2 times quarter mile sprints where not making time would mean redoing the the conditioning. Then comes practice 30 minutes to an hour of skill training learning new skills or perfecting skills already attained followed by 30 minutes to an hour of live wrestling hopefully using your new skills and you’re good to go but you better shower or you might catch one of the many skin diseases wrestlers carry! 
Wc: 456

Leave a Reply

